Note to my Papa!

In a week, I’ll be home! Home to see my family and my father again. Unfortunately though, it’s not in time for Fathers’ day. So, in these words, I hope to make up for that:

Dear Papa,
Thank you for all that you have been to me. You’ve picked me up when I was down, you’ve pushed me when I was lazy, you’ve comforted me when I was sad. You’ve made all of us laugh, and never minded when we teased you back. You’ve given me the space to grow on my own, but yet have always remained close by in case I needed you. You’ve taught both my sister and I the importance of family. You’ve been a mentor, a friend and most of all, a father.
But more than thanking you, I want to affirm you for the wonderful person that you are. You are one who inspires people around you. By demanding the best of others, you are helping them live up to their best potential. That is what you have done for me and it has made me the person I am today. I am proud to be your daughter and I hope to make you as proud of me too.

Amanda

This Fathers’ Day I mailed home a pair of paintings, pictures of oceans and sunsets. They symbolize that across distance and time, he is the best father to me.

Editor’s note:

Amanda’s father is a Facilitator and Speaker with Focus on the Family for Connect2 (marriage preparation workshop) and Parenting with Confidence (parenting program).

One thought on “Note to my Papa!

Tell us what you think!

