What My Children Have Taught Me

“I believe the children are our future,
Teach them well and let them lead the way,
Show them all the beauty they possess inside,
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier,
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be.”

Well, if you are familiar with the lyrics of this song, you are probably from the same era as I am! 😉

Having children of my own has totally changed me – my priorities, my lifestyle and my considerations in the many decision-making processes. More importantly, I have come to realize that my kids have helped me take a hard look at myself and at life!

We, adults, would like to think that we have much to impact our kids in the areas of values, etiquette, style, manners, etc… But if we examine carefully, we would be greatly surprised to discover that there is much children can teach us too.

1. Children are humble

Children are not afraid to display their dependence on others, in particular on their parents or caregivers. When my 28-month-old tot got her head trapped in between two chairs (don’t ask me how she got herself into that predicament!), she called out for help, “Daddy, Mommy, help! I am stuck!”

She is not afraid to ask for help when she needs it and that, to me, is a very endearing trait. Some grown-ups may see asking for help as a sign of weakness and end up suffering in silence.

2. Children are forgiving

They fight over a toy one minute but hug and make up the next! Children are no doubt some of the most forgiving people in the world. They do not harbor ill feelings towards one another for long. My two daughters sometimes get onto each other nerves by not sharing their things or fighting over TV channels. There may be tears but they quickly make up and hug each other again. The family and the world would be a far better place if we are like them, don’t you think?

3. Children are not politically correct

I recall a funny incident where I was rushing out to buy something and had to quickly change out of my home-wear. I was about to step out of the house when my elder daughter gave me a shocked look and asked, “Mommy, are you going out in that attire?!” The color of your blouse and your skirt don’t match!”

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating rudeness in a child but am referring to the pure honesty and innocence that come from a child who did not think she needed to be politically correct. Sometimes, I wish I could be more like them and just call a spade a spade!

So there you see, I have learned much from my children since becoming a mom! And it is utterly refreshing relating to children because what you see is what you get; there’s no need to do guess work. Kids can say (do) the darndest things and get away with them! How nice! 😉

Tell us what you think!

