Transitions

where to goYou have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. You are the guy who’ll decide where to go.

—Dr. Seuss

            Yes, I have brains in my head. The education that I’ve been blessed with has certainly given me that. Yup, I have my feet in shoes. Thanks to the parents who have provided so well for my sister and I. And now, I can steer myself in any direction I choose. Graduation after all, is symbolic of having completed one stage of life, the life very much dictated by a system of regular schedules, deadlines and accountability to so many other people other than you. But past graduation… Finally, finally, we get to choose to follow our passions, without regard to this requirement or that rule. FREEDOM!!

Do we really though?

            It feels like we might trading one set of “requirements” for another. Instead of assignment deadlines, we get project or event deadlines. Instead of an academic grade, we get performance evaluations. We’re still stuck in a system. On top of that, spouse and family will soon add more responsibility than we’ve ever had in our lives! I’m not really on my own.

BUT…

            It’s not all that dreary. We know what we know. And based on that, we can make the choices that best suit us. There is a degree of freedom after graduation. We’re now free to make our own choices and balance priorities.  For example, unlike school when studying never seemed to end, we can choose to not bring work home. We can choose to separate work and family, stress and relaxation. We can choose not to be caught up in the system. We can steer ourselves in any direction we choose. Suddenly there’s no school administration to tell us exactly how to live our lives. With our financial independence (hopefully), parents also have less of a say in our lives.

            All this might sound really general and vague. But that’s because transition is confusing. Nothing is written in stone and I’m still trying to figure out what I want and what to prioritize. It’s alright though; I just need to go back to what I believe in. Sometimes, it’s handy to have been brought up in a Christian family. It means I have a sort of compass to guide me. Anyway, for the moment, I’m savouring all the possibilities and the knowledge that I am the one who decides where to go…

Do YOU know where you’re going?

Tell us what you think!

